Skip to Content

Looking for Member-only Content?

opened lockSign in here to update your member information.

Create AAMC Account

1. Click sign in above
2. Enter personal information
3. Answer institutional identification questions
4. Answer AAMC questions

Forgot Login?

1. Click sign-in above
2. Click 'Forgot your password" or "Forgot your username"
3. Enter the email address you used to register

AAMC Mailing Lists

stamp on an envelope

AAMC mailing lists are available for sharing valuable information and resources with our member institutions and constituents.

About the CGEA

The CGEA is one of four regions that comprise the national GEA (Group on Educational Affairs). The CGEA medical schools are located in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin; additionally, the Canadian provinces of Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The CGEA has two annual meetings, a spring regional meeting at a member institution and a fall meeting at the national AAMC meeting. Faculty and staff of CGEA schools who are interested in medical education are welcome and encouraged to participate in these meetings.

The purpose of the CGEA is to encourage communication among members and to provide a forum for discussion of medical education matters. It shall also serve in a resource and advisory capacity to the Group on Educational Affairs (GEA) Steering Committee and the AAMC. The CGEA's primary concern is the process of medical education in the settings in which it takes place.

The CGEA has four sections: Undergraduate Medical Education (UGME), Graduate Medical Education (GME), Continuing Education and Improvement (CEI), and Medical Education Scholarship Research and Evaluation (MESRE). The CGEA Sections are actively involved in planning the annual meeting. The leaders of these sections are also involved with the national sections, informing Central Group members of national trends and national initiatives.

CGEA Membership

To join the CGEA, please complete the membership application linked below. Upon submitting the form, you will be added to both the national GEA and CGEA listserve.

GEA Membership Application

Institutional Members

  • Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Central Michigan University College of Medicine
  • Chicago Medical School of Rosalind Franklin University School of Medicine and Science
  • Creighton University School of Medicine
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
  • Mayo Clinic School of Medicine
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
  • Ohio State University College of Medicine
  • Rush Medical College of Rush University Medical Center
  • Saint Louis University School of Medicine
  • Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
  • University of Chicago Division of Biological Sciences The Pritzker School of Medicine
  • University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • University of Illinois College of Medicine
  • University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine
  • University of Kansas School of Medicine
  • University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine
  • University of Michigan Medical School
  • University of Minnesota Medical School
  • University of Missouri – Columbia School of Medicine
  • University of Missouri – Kansas City School of Medicine
  • University of Nebraska School of Medicine
  • University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • University of Saskatchewan College of Medicine
  • University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine
  • University of Toledo College of Medicine
  • University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
  • Wayne State University School of Medicine
  • Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine
  • Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine

About CGEA

Contact CGEA

CGEA Chair
Caren M. Stalburg, MD, MA
Chair: 2017–2019
Chief, Division of Professional Education, Department of Learning Health Sciences
Clinical Associate Professor, Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Learning Health Sciences
University of Michigan Medical School

AAMC Staff
Stephen McKenzie
Director, Educational Affairs

Chris McKnight
Program Specialist, Medical Education

Other GEA Regions