

Association of American Medical Colleges 655 K Street, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, D.C. 20001-2399 T 202 828 0400 F 202 828 1125 www.aamc.org

# ALPHA OMEGA ALPHA ROBERT J. GLASER DISTINGUISHED TEACHER AWARDS

### 2020 Call for Nominations and Selection Criteria

In 1988, the Alpha Omega Alpha (A $\Omega$ A) Honor Medical Society established two awards for outstanding accomplishments in the teaching of medical students. These awards are now known as the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards. Their purpose is to help catalyze stronger efforts to recognize the significant contributions to medical education made by gifted teachers.

For 2020, the program will provide up to four awards. Each awardee will receive a 10,000 grant; each awardee's nominating institution will receive 2,500 for teaching activities; and each awardee's A $\Omega$ A chapter participating in the nomination process will receive an award of 1,000 for its activities. Each medical school in the United States and Canada may nominate one faculty member; the nomination is made by the Dean. Award recipients for 2019 were:

- Susan M. Cox, MD, University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School
- Mohammed K. Khalil, DVM, PhD, MSEd, University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville
- N. Kevin Krane, MD, Tulane University School of Medicine
- Cathleen C. Pettepher, PhD, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Recipients of the awards are selected by members of a committee appointed jointly by Alpha Omega Alpha (A $\Omega$ A) and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The 2020 awards will be presented during the AAMC Annual Meeting Awards Dinner in Washington, DC. The online nomination form must be completed no later than **11:59 pm on Friday, April 15, 2020**.

## ALPHA OMEGA ALPHA ROBERT J. GLASER DISTINGUISHED TEACHER AWARDS

## I. 2020 Selection Criteria for All Awards

- The nominee must hold the rank of Assistant Professor or higher in either a tenure or non-tenure track.
- The nominee's educational accomplishments should be principally in medical student education.
- The nominee demonstrates innovative work and products in the support and delivery of the educational program.
- The nominee has received prior recognition as an outstanding teacher, either from their institution, another institution, or state/regional/national organizations.
- The nominee has published in the field of medical education, and the nominee's educational materials have been adopted by other institutions.
- The institution's system for selecting its Glaser Award nominee provides for broad student participation and the peer judgment of faculty colleagues. Nominations should include comments of support from the Dean, colleagues, and students.
- Previous nominees may be nominated again.
- Nominations for posthumous awards cannot be considered.

## **II. Instructions**

- Each LCME-accredited medical school in the United States and Canada may nominate one candidate each year. The school must designate whether the nomination is for the basic science or clinical science category.
- The nomination must be completed on line at: https://www.abstractscorecard.com/cfp/submit/login.asp?EventKey=JQLNNXSV
- The nominee's curriculum vitae and a copy of his/her complete bibliography should be included with the online nomination. Letters in support of a nomination *will not* be considered by the selection committee.
- The nomination must be made by the Dean of the medical school.
- Completed nominations are due by 11:59 pm on Friday, April 15, 2020.
- Please address all questions to:

Sandra Gordon 202-828-0472 sgordon@aamc.org