AAMC, Series 2: constitution & Bylaws, Box 1, Folder 10: Bylaws as Amended Nov 13, 1976

AR. GOV. 01

XVIII. Election of Distinguished Service Members

ACTION: On motion, seconded, and carried, the Assembly approved the election of the following individuals to Distinguished Service Membership in the AAMC:

> Stanley Ferguson T. Stewart Hamilton Cheves McC. Smythe

XIX. Election of Emeritus Members

ACTION: On motion, seconded, and carried, the Assembly approved the election of the following individuals to Emeritus Membership in the AAMC:

> Kenneth Brinkhous James W. Haviland Hugh H. Hussey Thomas D. Kinney Marcus D. Kogel

XX. Amendment to the AAMC Bylaws

ACTION: On motion, seconded, and carried, the Assembly approved the following amendment to the AAMC Bylaws:

Title III.

There shall be an Organization of Student Representatives related to the Council of Deans, operated in a manner consistent with rules and regulations approved by the Council of Deans and comprised of one representative of each institutional member that is a member of the Council of Deans chosen from the student body of each Institutional members whose representatives such member. serve on the Organization of Student Representatives Administrative Board may designate two representatives on the Organization of Student Representatives, provided that only one representative of any institutional member may vote in any meeting. The Organization of Student Representatives shall meet at least once each year at the time and place of the annual meeting of the Council of Deans in conjunction with said meeting to elect a Chairperson and Chairperson Elect and other officers to recommend student members of committees of the Association, to recommend to the Council of Deans the Organization's representatives to the Assembly, and to consider other matters of particular interest to students of

i

àr.

institutional members. All actions taken and recommendations made by the Organization of Student Representatives shall be reported to the Chairman of the Council of Deans.

Title VI. Section 2

The Executive Council shall consist of fifteen members elected by the Assembly and ex officio, the Chairman, Chairman-Elect, President, the Chairman of each of the three councils created by these Bylaws, and the Chairperson and Chairperson-Elect of the Organization of Student Representatives, all of whom shall be voting members. Of the fifteen members of the Executive Council elected by the Assembly, three shall be members of the Council of Academic Societies, three shall be members of the Council of Teaching Hospitals, eight shall be members of the Council of Deans, and one shall be a Distinguished Service Member. The elected members of the Executive Council shall be elected by the Assembly at its annual meeting, each to serve for three years or until the election and installation of his successor. Each shall be eligible for reelection for one additional consecutive term of three years. Each shall be elected by majority vote and may be removed by a vote of twothirds of the members of the Assembly present and voting.

(Note: new language is underlined.)

XXI. Report of the Resolutions Committee

Dr. Cronkhite reported that there were no resolutions to be considered, since none had been submitted to the Resolutions Committee.

XXII. New Business

On behalf of the Association staff Dr. Cooper expressed his gratitude for the support and energies of the officers and members of the Councils and Administrative Boards during the past year.

XXIII. Report of the Nominating Committee

Dr. Rolla Hill, a member of the 1976 Nominating Committee, reported in the absence of the Nominating Committee Chairman, Dr. James Warren. The Nominating Committee is charged by the Association Bylaws with reporting one nominee for the position of Chairman-Elect and one nominee for each vacancy on the Executive Council. The following slate of nominees was presented: