March 12, 2018

The Honorable Paul Ryan, Speaker United States House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader United States House of Representatives H-204, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

## Dear Speaker Ryan and Leader Pelosi:

The undersigned organizations collectively represent millions of patients with serious and life-threatening diseases. We write to express our concern with, and opposition to, the latest version of the *Trickett Wendler, Frank Mongiello, Jordan McLinn, and Matthew Bellina Right to Try Act* released on March 10, 2018. While this version of the legislation includes patient safety improvements compared to previous versions of the legislation, we reiterate our concern with creating a secondary pathway for accessing investigational therapies outside of clinical trials that would remove Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approval and consultation, and would not increase access to promising therapies for our patients because it does not address the primary barriers to such access.

FDA's expanded access program, though imperfect, facilitates access to investigational therapies for over a thousand patients facing serious and life-threatening conditions each year. FDA repeatedly approves over 99 percent of requests while sometimes making important dosing and safety improvements to proposed expanded use. Conversely, it is often times the pharmaceutical company that denies access to its investigational therapy outside of its clinical trials for any number of reasons.

We recognize that the latest draft of the legislation incorporates improvements that address some of the patient safety concerns we have consistently raised with prior versions of the legislation. These improvements include a more limited eligibility for this pathway compared to the Senate-passed legislation, more robust informed consent requirements, more frequent and thorough reporting to FDA, and the requirement for manufacturers to provide additional public reporting on the use of this pathway.

However, the alternative pathway in the latest version of the legislation is still less safe for our patients than the current expanded access process. This alternative pathway would allow for a 7-day lag between access to investigational therapies (as well as potential ensuing adverse events) and FDA notification. FDA is also prohibited from halting access to these experimental therapies short of placing a clinical hold on all clinical research on the therapy in question, which is a blunt and disproportionate measure. The legislation would also remove FDA's consultation on dosing, route of administration, dosing schedule, and other important safety measures available under FDA's current expanded access program.

We appreciate the changes that were made to address some of the safety concerns our community has raised with previous legislation, and acknowledge the concerted effort to consider stakeholder perspectives. Our collective organizations remain opposed to the current draft of the legislation. We welcome the opportunity to continue constructive dialogue on ways to improve the ability of patients to genuinely and safely access both approved and unapproved lifesaving therapies.

Sincerely,

ADNP Kids Research Foundation

**AIDS Action Baltimore** 

Alliance for Aging Research

Alliance of Dedicated Cancer Centers

American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

American Lung Association

American Society of Clinical Oncology

American Syringomyelia and Chiari Alliance Project

Amyloidosis Support Groups

Association for Creatine Deficiencies

Association of American Medical Colleges

Benign Essential Blepharospasm Research Foundation

Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation

Bridge the Gap - SYNGAP Education and Research Foundation

CancerCare

Charlotte and Gwenyth Gray Foundation to Cure Batten Disease

Children's Cardiomyopathy Foundation

Congenital Hyperinsulinism International

CurePSP

Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Defeat MSA

The Desmoid Tumor Research Foundation

The Disability Rights Legal Center

Dup15q Alliance

Dysautonomia Foundation

Equal Access for Rare Disorders

Fight Colorectal Cancer

FORCE: Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered

Friedreich's Ataxia Research Alliance (FARA)

Friends of Cancer Research

The Global Foundation for Peroxisomal Disorders

Glut1 Deficiency Foundation

The Guthy-Jackson Charitable Foundation

Hemophilia Federation of America

**HLRCC** Family Alliance

Hope for Hypothalamic Hamartomas

Hyper IgM Foundation, Inc.

International Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva (FOP) Association

International Myeloma Foundation

International Pemphigus and Pemphigoid Foundation

International Society for Stem Cell Research

International Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia Foundation (IWMF)

The Isaac Foundation

Jack McGovern Coats' Disease Foundation

The LAM Foundation

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Li-Fraumeni Syndrome Association (LFS Association / LFSA)

**LUNGevity Foundation** 

M-CM Network

Mattie Miracle Cancer Foundation

MitoAction

**MLD** Foundation

Moebius Syndrome Foundation

The MSA Awareness Shoe

Mucolipidosis Type IV Foundation

The Myelin Project

Myotonic Dystrophy Foundation

National Brain Tumor Society

National Comprehensive Cancer Network

National Consumers League

National Health Council

National MPS Society

National Niemann-Pick Disease Foundation

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)

National Patient Advocate Foundation

National PKU Alliance

National PKU News

Neurofibromatosis Northeast

**Operation ASHA** 

PRP Alliance, Inc.

Rare and Undiagnosed Network (RUN)

Scleroderma Foundation

The Snyder-Robinson Foundation

Sofia Sees Hope

**SSADH** Association

Susan G. Komen

TargetCancer Foundation

**Treatment Action Group** 

The Turner Syndrome Society

United Leukodystrophy Foundation

United Mitochondrial Disease Foundation (UMDF)

Veterans Health Council

Vietnam Veterans of America

VHL Alliance

Worldwide Syringomyelia & Chiari Task Force

CC: The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Majority Leader The Honorable Steny Hoyer, Minority Whip