Skip to Content

AAMC Learning Health System Research Award Winners

The AAMC Learning Health System Champion and Pioneer Research Awards recognize innovations in medical education, care delivery, research, and diversity and inclusion. The research awards recognize institutions that have implemented or wish to enhance capacity of innovative, system-wide processes that improve the opportunity for research.

2014 Champion Award Winners

Title: Consent2Share
Primary contact: David Nelson, M.D.; Professor of Medicine
Institution: University of Florida

Title: Achieving a Learning Health System through Collaborative Engagement and the Creation of a Statewide Research Infrastructure and Clinical Data Resources
Primary contact: Christine B. Turley, M.D.; Chief Medical Officer; Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
Institution: Health Sciences South Carolina, University of South Carolina School of Medicine

Title: The Quality Improvement and Patient Safety committee: A bridge to multidisciplinary and inter-institutional collaboration to build a culture of high value high quality care
Primary contact: Jennifer I. Lee, M.D., FACP
Institution: Weill Cornell Medical College

Title: Connecting Dots: Creating a Learning System Linking Clinical Quality Improvement, Maintenance of Certification and Research
Primary contact: Maureen Smith, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.; Professor of Population Health Sciences, Family Medicine, Surgery
Institution: UW Health/University of Wisconsin
*2013 Pioneer award winner

Title: Henry Ford Health System Healthcare Equity Scholars Program
Primary contact: Denise White-Perkins, M.D., Ph.D.; Director, Institute on Multicultural Health
Institution: Henry Ford Health System
*2013 Pioneer award winner

Title: System wide Efforts to Improve Everyday Clinical Practice and Health Equity in an Accountable Care Environment
Primary contact: Rebecca Crowell, Ph.D.; Manager, Research Development
Institution: Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center
*2013 Pioneer award winner

Title: Building the Infrastructure to Enhance QI Research in the UAB Health System
Primary contact: Monika Safford, M.D.; Professor of Medicine
Institution: University of Alabama at Birmingham
*2013 Pioneer award winner

Title: The Duke University Learning Health System Training Program
Primary contact: Aimee K. Zaas M.D., M.H.S.; Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency; Associate Professor of Medicine
Institution: Duke University Medical Center
*2013 Pioneer award winner

2014 Pioneer Award Winners

Title: An Innovative Approach to Creating a Continuously Learning Healthcare System - Implementation of a Communication and Resolution Program
Primary contact: Kelly M. Smith, Ph.D.; Scientific Director, Quality and Safety Research
Institution: MedStar Health Research Institute

Title: Connecting the Caregivers, the Learners and the Researchers: A Shared Quality Improvement Registry to Build Knowledge and Improve Care
Primary contact: Randy Harmatz, M.B.A.; Senior Vice President and Chief Quality Officer
Institution: UF Health

Title: Clinical Investigator Kick-start (ClIK): A formative evaluation of a pilot program to energize clinical faculty driven research at UT Health Science Center San Antonio (UTHSCSA)
Primary contact: Jennifer Sharpe Potter, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Assistant Dean for Research & Student Programs; Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry & Anesthesiology
Institution: UT Health Science Center, San Antonio School of Medicine

Title: Development of a standardized and accepted process for creating, implementing, and evaluating value-driven care process models within an Academic Health Enterprise
Primary contact: Catherine Staes, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Institution: University of Utah HealthCare

Title: The Cost of Quality: How Do We Calculate Value-Based Care?
Primary contact: Michelle Nguyen, M.D.; Resident Physician, Department of Surgery
Institution: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Learner Awards

Veronica Ades, M.D., M.P.H.
New York University/Gouverneur Healthcare Services
Anita Gupta, D.O., Pharm.D.
Drexel University College of Medicine/Hahnemann University Hospital
Yoshimi Anzai, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Utah Healthcare
Renee J. LeClair, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina, Greenville
Devra Beyer Becker, M.D.
Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center
Dayna J. LePlatte, M.D.
University of Michigan
Stephanie V. Blank, M.D.
NYU School of Medicine
James M. Lewis, M.D.
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Iris Buchanan-Perry, M.D., M.Sc.
Morehouse School of Medicine
James T. McDeavitt, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Elizabeth A. Crabtree, M.P.H.
The Medical University of South Carolina
Elizabeth Rebello, M.D.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
James Cuvillier
University of Texas, San Antonio School of Medicine
Marina Reznik, M.D., M.S.
Children's Hospital at Montefiore Medical Center
Maria Ioana Danila, M.D., M.Sc., M.S.P.H.
University of Alabama - Birmingham
Ana M. Viamonte Ros, M.D., M.P.H.
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, FIU
Desiree de la Torre, M.P.H., M.B.A.
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Ulka Sachdev, M.D.
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Jeff Duncan, M.S., Ph.D. Candidate
Utah Department of Health
Maria Aurora Posadas Salas, M.D.
The Medical University of South Carolina
Monique M. Duwell, M.D., M.P.H.
George Washington University
Tiffany A. Moore Simas, M.D., M.P.H., M.Ed.
University of Massachusetts Medical School/UMass Memorial Medical Center
Michael J. Gardner, M.D.
University of Missouri - Columbia
Melanie Spencer, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Carolinas Healthcare System
Karen Gunning, Pharm.D.
University of Utah College of Pharmacy
Yolanda Wimberly, M.D., M.Sc.
Morehouse School of Medicine

For a more information, please download the full listing of the 2014 Learning Health System Research winners .

Please also see the 2013 Learning Health System Research winners,

Join the ROCC Community

Receive updates on the Research on Care Community.

First Name:
Last Name:
Job Title:

Learn about AAMC medical research initiatives and publications.