Skip to Content

Learn about AAMC medical research initiatives and publications.

APR Membership

The AAMC Advisory Panel on Research is composed of members with expertise ranging from institutional leadership, broad scope of research to promote health, innovation and leadership in health care, and institutional infrastructure and resources for research. Our members work together to reflect AAMC’s vision, to respond to contemporary and evolving health and health care needs of the public, to emphasize innovation in research models and infrastructure, to help assure sustainability and social responsiveness of the research enterprise, and to align our activities with the strategic priorities of the AAMC. Our members are appointed to staggered three-year terms.

The following individuals are currently members of the AAMC Advisory Panel on Research.

Karen Antman, PhD
Provost of the Medical Campus and Dean
Boston University School of Medicine

Bobbie Berkowitz, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean and Mary O'Neil Mundinger Professor
Columbia University School of Nursing
Senior Vice President
Columbia University Medical Center

David H. Browdy
Associate Vice President for Finance and CFO
University of Utah Health Sciences
Clinical Neurosciences Center

Michael Friedlander, PhD
Executive Director, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
Associate Provost for Health Sciences, Virginia Tech
Sr. Dean for Research, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Professor, Biological Sciences & Biomedical Engineering & Science, Virginia Tech
Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Paul A. Insel, MD
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Professor, Pharmacology and Medicine
University of California, San Diego

Lilly Marks
Vice President for Health Affairs
University of Colorado
Executive Vice Chancellor
Anschutz Medical Campus

Brian S. Mittman, PhD
Sr. Scientist, VA Center for Implementation Practice and
Research Support, VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
Co-Lead, UCLA CTSI Implementation and Improvement Science Initiative

Keith C. Norris, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine
Co-Director, UCLA-CTSI Community Engagement and  Research Program

Elizabeth Ofili, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Clinical Research
Director, Clinical Research Center
Morehouse School of Medicine

Valerie P. Opipari, MD
Ravitz Foundation Professor and Chair
Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
Physician-in-Chief, C.S. Mott Children's Hospital
Director of Taubman Institute’s Neuroblastoma Research Program
University of Michigan Health System

Richard Platt, MD, MSc
Professor and Chair, Department of Population Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Executive Director, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute

Marsha D. Rappley, MD
Vice President for Health Sciences, VCU
Chief Executive Officer, VCU Health System
Virginia Commonwealth University

E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Debra S. Regier, MD, PhD
Pediatric/Genetics Clinical Fellow
Chief Resident, Children's National Medical Center
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health

Maureen Smith, MD, PhD, MPH
Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Research
University of Wisconsin

Wiley “Chip” Souba, Jr., MD, DSc, MBA
Professor of Surgery
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Selwyn M. Vickers, MD
James C. Lee, Jr. Endowed Chair
Sr. Vice President of Medicine and Dean
University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine

Valerie N. Williams, PhD, MPA
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs & Faculty Development
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Neil J. Weissman, MD
President, MedStar Health Research Institute
Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University
MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Group on Research Advancement and Development (GRAND) Liaisons

Curt Civin, MD
Associate Dean for Research
Director, Center for Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Stephen Sugrue, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Research Affairs
University of Florida College of Medicine

Graduate Research Education and Training Group (GREAT) Liaisons

John Paul Horn, PhD
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Professional of Neurobiology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Jabbar Bennett, PhD
Associate Provost for Diversity & Inclusion
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine