Skip to Content

Herbert W. Nickens Award

Commemorating 20 years of the Herbert W. Nickens Award.

Deadline: April 5, 2019

The Herbert W. Nickens Award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and health care equity in the United States. Dr. Herbert W. Nickens was the founding vice president of the AAMC Division of Community and Minority Programs, now Diversity Policy and Programs. Dr. Nickens’ passionate leadership contributed greatly to focusing national attention on the need to support underrepresented racial and ethnic minorities in medicine.

The awardee receives the Nickens Award and a $10,000 prize. The awardee also presents the Nickens Lecture at Learn Serve Lead 2019 in Phoenix, AZ.

Selection Criteria

Dr. Nickens believed that a multidisciplinary approach is needed to address inequities in health. Nominees from a wide range of fields are encouraged, including medicine, dentistry, education, law, nursing, pharmacy, public health, and social and behavioral sciences. Nominees will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Exemplary contributions to promoting social justice in medical education and health equities
  • Record of achievement in promoting social justice
  • Contributions have had a significant national impact

Guidelines for Entry

The nomination packet must include:

  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae, including current address
  • One (1) nomination letter that explains the nominee's qualifications for the award by:
    - Highlighting specific work in the United States to promote social justice in medical education and health equities; and
    - Including at least two (2) brief testimonials interwoven into the letter that support their contributions to promoting social justice in medical education and health equities

Note: The letter must be doubled-spaced with 1” margins and Times New Roman font size 12, and not exceed six (6) pages.

The committee will not review additional materials.

Completed nomination package should be emailed in a single file, with the nomination letter first, to Angela Moses at by April 5, 2019. Late nominations will not be considered.

Nomination Packet Checklist

Email nominations to: