Skip to Content

Previous Nickens Award Recipients

2018 - Griffin P. Rodgers, MD, MACP

2017 - George C. Hill, PhD, Vanderbilt University

2016 - Somnath Saha, MD, MPH, Oregon Health & Science University and VA Portland Health Care System

2015 - Ana E. Núñez, MD, Drexel University College of Medicine

2014 - Lisa Copper, MD, MPH, FACP, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

2013 - Aaron Shirley, MD, Jackson Medical Mall Foundation

2012 - David Hayes-Bautista, PhD, university of California, Los Angeles, David Geffen School of Medicine

2011 - Elijah Saunders, MD, FACC, FACP, Professor of Medicine, University of Maryland School of Medicine

2010 - Alvin F. Poussaint, MD, Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

2009 - Jeanne C. Sinkford, DDS, PhD, Associate Executive Director, American Dental Education Association

2008 - Vivian W. Pinn, MD, Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health

2007 - M. Roy Wilson, MD, Chancellor University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center Chairman of the Board University of Colorado Hospital

2006 - Spero M. Manson, PhD., Professor of Psychiatry and Head University of Colorado of Denver and Health Sciences Center

2005 - Joan Y. Reede, MD, MPH, MS, Dean, Diversity and Community Partnership Associate Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School

2004 - Michael V. Drake, MD, Vice President for Health Affairs University of California

2003 - Anna Cherrie Epps, PhD, Senior Advisor to the President for Academic Affairs Meharry Medical College

2002 - David Satcher, M.D., PhD, Director of the National Center for Primary Care Morehouse School of Medicine

2001 - Lee C. Bollinger, JD, President University of Michigan

2000 - Donald E. Wilson, MD, Vice President of Medical Affairs and Dean University of Maryland School of Medicine

More about the Herbert W. Nickens Award