Skip to Content

2018 Award Recipients

The AAMC is pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of the association’s annual awards, which honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to medical education, research, clinical care, and community service.

The recipients will be honored on Sunday, November 4 at Learn Serve Lead 2018: The AAMC Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas. You are invited to join us at the AAMC awards dinner to celebrate these outstanding awardees (advance registration is required).

Nominations for the 2019 AAMC Awards will open October 29, 2018. Mark your calendars to visit and consider nominating an exceptional colleague for one of these honors.

Richard L. Cruess, MD, and Sylvia R. Cruess, MD

2018 Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education

In a collaboration spanning three decades, Drs. Cruess have singlehandedly changed the medical community’s understanding of professionalism and the role of the physician in the 21st century.
Learn more about Drs. Cruess

Stanley A. Plotkin, MD

2018 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences

Considered by many as dean of the world’s contemporary vaccinologists, Dr. Plotkin is renowned for his development of the rubella vaccine, which effectively eradicated the disease in the Western Hemisphere and most of Europe.
Learn more about Dr. Plotkin

David A. Asch, MD, MBA

2018 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award

Combining his passion for social justice with behavioral economics, Dr. Asch’s work has elevated the standard of health care delivery in America and advanced the education of future physicians.
Learn more about Dr. Asch

Griffin P. Rodgers, MD, MACP

2018 Herbert W. Nickens Award

A physician investigator who discovered the first FDA-approved treatment for sickle cell disease, Dr. Rodgers continues to work toward eliminating racially-based health disparities as director of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases at the National Institutes of Health.
Learn more about Dr. Rodgers

Mark T. Garry, MD

2018 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

Dr. Garry’s innate ability to see each patient as a unique individual enables him to connect with the most vulnerable patients while also demonstrating to clinicians that harnessing empathy is the best way to achieve their highest potential as physicians.
Learn more about Dr. Garry

University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

2018 Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service

For decades, medical students and faculty have worked in interdisciplinary teams with island communities to yield dozens of sustainable resources addressing community-identified needs, while simultaneously building capacity among their community partners. Through strong relationships and resourcefulness, the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine is today considered a trusted partner for many diverse communities on the island, including the elderly, working poor, homeless, intravenous drug users, youth, environmental organizations, pharmacies, and government agencies.
Learn more about the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

Robert G. Carroll, PhD

Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Motivated by his fundamental belief that education is a social contract that requires joint ownership by teacher and learner, Dr. Carroll has spearheaded successful curricular enhancements and shared lessons learned with colleagues around the world.
Learn More about Dr. Carroll

Bennett Lorber, MD, MACP

2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Blending a deep love of art and the humanities with his clinical training, Dr. Lorber has connected with his students and challenged them to develop well-honed observational skills at the bedside, while also encouraging them to pursue their own interests outside of medicine.
Learn more about Dr. Lorber

Gail Morrison, MD

2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Dr. Morrison envisioned, built, and implemented a medical school curriculum that transformed how students acquire knowledge, cultivate leadership skills, and develop clinical competencies.
Learn more about Dr. Morrison

Kyle E. Rarey, PhD

2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

First as a high-school biology teacher and now as a medical school professor, Dr. Rarey has been combining his love of anatomy with his compassionate understanding of the human condition to motivate students to excel in medicine and in life.
Learn more about Dr. Rarey