Skip to Content

2015 AAMC Awards Recipients

Each year at our annual meeting, the AAMC presents its major awards honoring individuals and programs making significant contributions to our community in the fields of medical education, research, and community service.
Learn more about the AAMC Awards

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

2015 Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service


As the nation’s first pediatric hospital, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) has been promoting a culture of health and wellness for children and families in the greater Philadelphia area for more than 150 years. Using its own needs assessment, CHOP has identified serious challenges to community health, including pervasive poverty, access to care, adolescent services, obesity prevention, and behavioral health care. The hospital’s community-based programs use a public health approach to address these challenges.
Learn more about CHOP

David Muller, MD

2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


For more than 25 years, Dr. Muller has dedicated himself to ensuring that students become compassionate, well-rounded 21st-century physicians by emphasizing education in the humanities and professionalism in addition to strong scientific foundations. Early in his career, Dr. Muller demonstrated his keen aptitude for teaching and leadership as a chief resident, and today he is one of the most respected educators at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.
Learn more about Dr. Muller


Gurpreet Dhaliwal, MD

2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Dhaliwal has been lauded by The New York Times as “one of the most skillful clinical diagnosticians in practice today.” His students attest to his skill at imparting such talent to them. Dr. Dhaliwal is a professor of clinical medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. He sees patients and teaches medical students and residents in the emergency department, inpatient wards, and outpatient clinic at the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center, where he is the site director for internal medicine student clerkships.
Learn more about Dr. Dhaliwal

Jonathan Kibble, PhD

2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Kibble is a medical educator who inspires students to learn and whom teachers aspire to emulate in equal measure. His passion for teaching was ignited by his first faculty position at the University of Sheffield Medical School. Hired to start a research laboratory investigating the molecular physiology of renal tubular ion transport, he also accepted a position as lecturer in medical physiology and anatomy. He has since taught more than 4,000 medical students in different parts of the world, having held faculty appointments at St. George’s University in the West Indies and Memorial University of Newfoundland in Canada.
Learn more about Dr. Kibble

Thomas Kwasigroch, PhD

2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Kwasigroch, a professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, is the most-awarded faculty member at East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine (ETSU), having received more than 50 awards. Since joining the ETSU faculty in 1979, he has taught and mentored thousands of students in their medicine and physical therapy careers. Dr. Kwasigroch has cultivated a strong reputation for being on the leading edge of education. He obtained iPad technology to maximize learning in the anatomy lab and, in 2013, was the first at ETSU to flip the classroom to encourage active learning.
Learn more about Dr. Kwasigroch

Elisabeth Wilson, MD, MPH

2015 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award


Dr. Wilson inspires a sense of belonging, purpose, and worth in her students, her colleagues, her patients, and sometimes even strangers on the street. In her mid-20s, she was motivated to pursue medicine after the loss of her partner to cancer. She completed her MD and MPH at Tufts University and then returned to California for a family medicine residency at San Francisco General Hospital, where she witnessed dramatic social and health inequities firsthand. Now professor and vice chair of education in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, Dr. Wilson shares her passion for health equity with learners.
Learn more about Dr. Wilson

Ana E. Núñez, MD

2015 Herbert W. Nickens Award


An expert in the intersection of health disparities with sex, gender, and cultural identity, Dr. Núñez, professor of medicine at Drexel University College of Medicine, tirelessly and selflessly leverages her expertise to improve health equity in her community of Philadelphia and throughout our nation. With a concentration on the role of sex and gender on health and health care, she has trained generations of medical students in cultural competence. Her innovative curricula have been shared nationwide for training at all levels, including as part of Healing Health Disparities at Harvard University, and lauded as exemplary for reducing bias in health care delivery by the Institute of Medicine.
Learn more about Dr. Núñez

E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA

2015 David E. Rogers Award


Dr. Reece, dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, as well as vice president of medical affairs for the University of Maryland and the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor, is an ardent champion of “big science” research, clinical service excellence, and cutting-edge innovations in medical education. Through dedicated service to notable committees and federal panels, he has earned a solid reputation as an effective and collaborative leader. His keen understanding that tomorrow’s physicians must possess greater analytic and critical-thinking skills to process massive data sets led to the development of a new required course at the school of medicine: Foundations in Research and Critical Thinking. It now serves as a national model.
Learn more about Dr. Reece

Carl H. June, MD

2015 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences


The remarkable discoveries of Dr. June have brought biomedical research to the doorstep of cures for immunology diseases such as cancer and HIV, with promise of crossing the threshold. When he began his career in the 1970s, science had already demonstrated T-cell infusion, known as adoptive cell transfer, as an effective therapy for chronic viral infections and cancer in animal models. Dr. June, the Richard W. Vague Professor of Immunotherapy at the Perelman School of Medicine, has dedicated his career to proving the concept in humans.
Learn more about Dr. June

Brian D. Hodges, MD, PhD

2015 Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education


Like Abraham Flexner, Dr. Hodges has stimulated an international medical education metamorphosis to prepare the next generation of physicians for a rapidly changing future. As professor of psychiatry at the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine, he was instrumental in projects that redefined competence for future physicians. He was a major contributor to the Educating Future Physicians for Ontario project and its successor, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada CanMEDS framework.
Learn more about Dr. Hodges