Skip to Content

2013 Awards Recipients

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

2013 Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service

University of Wisconsin

Since matriculating its first class in 1908, the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health (UWSMPH) has dedicated itself to the “Wisconsin Idea”—the notion that the boundaries of the campus are the boundaries of the state. Ever since, UWSMPH has viewed itself as a means to elevate the health of all Wisconsinites through excellent community service in three areas: community partnerships, translational research endeavors, and medical education.

Deborah E. Powell, M.D.

2013 Abraham Flexner Distinguished Service to Medical Education


Abraham Flexner’s enduring legacy for medical education has been a steadfast commitment to improving medical education. The same can be said of Dr. Powell, dean emerita and professor of laboratory medicine and pathology at the University of Minnesota Medical School, who has spent her career of more than 40 years championing competency-based medical education.

Learn more about Dr. Powell

Stuart Slavin, M.D., M.Ed.

2013 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Stewart Slavin

Dr. Slavin has demonstrated a passion for medical education and curricular design during his 26 years in academic medicine. As professor of pediatrics and associate dean for curriculum at the Saint Louis University School of Medicine, Dr. Slavin teaches as much as he works behind the scenes to shape the school’s education program. He recently spearheaded a comprehensive restructuring plan for the four-year undergraduate medical curriculum that was quickly approved and began to be implemented this academic year.

Learn more about Dr. Slavin

Roy Ziegelstein, M.D.

2013 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Ziegelstein of The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine is regarded as “the doctor’s doctor,” and his record of teaching accomplishments honors that clinical mastery. He currently is vice dean for education and the Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson Jr. Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins and executive vice chairman in the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.

Cynthia Lance-Jones, Ph.D.

2013 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award


As associate professor of neurobiology and assistant dean for medical student research at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Dr. Lance-Jones interacts closely with medical students in their first and second years. Her teaching ability is recognized by students not only through outstanding evaluations and attendance to her lectures, but also by the fact that she is one of only three faculty members students request each year to provide review sessions for the United States Medical Licensing Examination Step 1 exam.

Mikel Henry Snow, Ph.D.

2013 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Mike Snow

In addition to being professor of cell and neurobiology and chair and director of medical education at Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California, Dr. Snow is the director of anatomy, the role for which his students know him best. An innovative and involved educator, he is known for his dynamic, comprehensive lectures and his original study materials, which he continually works to edit and improve.

Lee Todd Miller, M.D.

2013 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award


The career of Dr. Miller has been guided by his passions for pediatrics, medical education, and addressing health care disparities in underserved communities both at home and abroad. At the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles, he is an esteemed role model and teacher, demonstrating warmth and humanism at all levels.

Huda Akil, Ph.D.

2013 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences


Dr. Akil once wrote a commentary about being a Syrian girl growing up in Damascus and her dream of becoming a scientist. Today, not only is Dr. Akil the Gardner C. Quarton Professor of Neurosciences in Psychiatry at the University of Michigan Medical School and co-director and senior research professor at the university’s Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, but she is a pioneer of what is now called “systems neuroscience,” the understanding of the neurobiology of emotions and the interplay of pain, anxiety, depression, stress, and substance abuse.

Gilbert S. Omenn, M.D., Ph.D.

2013 David E. Rogers Award


Dr. Omenn has made significant contributions to the health and health care of Americans by doing everything from leading major public health studies and initiatives to forming actual health policy for the nation. A leader on the national stage, Dr. Omenn has held high-level government appointments during the administrations of Presidents Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Clinton, and Obama. He also has served as professor of internal medicine, human genetics, and public health at the University of Michigan (U-M) Medical School since 1997 and as CEO of the U-M Health System and executive vice president for medical affairs.

Aaron Shirley, M.D.

2013 Herbert W. Nickens Award

Dr. Shirley 100x134

Becoming the first African-American resident at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC) in 1965 was just the beginning of the trailblazing career of Dr. Shirley. As the former chairman of community health services at UMMC, he served on the faculty for more than four decades. In 1970, he co-founded the Jackson Hinds Comprehensive Health Center for low-income and uninsured patients that became a model for federally funded community health centers nationwide. Dr. Shirley’s most visible legacy may be the first-of-its-kind Jackson Medical Mall, a once empty and vandalized shopping mall that he believed could become a one-stop shop for medical care and other public services. The mall opened in 1996.