Skip to Content

Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education

The Flexner Award is granted annually to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the medical education community.

Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences

The Research Award honors an outstanding researcher or pair of researchers for groundbreaking discoveries in basic or translational science.

Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

The Foreman Award is presented annually to a member institution with a long-standing commitment to addressing community needs in partnership with their community.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation David E. Rogers Award

The RWJF Rogers Award is granted annually to a medical school faculty member who has made major contributions to improving public health and health care.

Herbert W. Nickens Award

The Nickens Award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and the health care of the American people.

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

The Humanism Award recognizes a medical school faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.

Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

The Distinguished Teacher Awards recognize the significant contributions of gifted teachers to medical education.

Herbert W. Nickens Faculty Fellowship

The Nickens fellowship recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member who holds the rank of assistant professor in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school department.

Herbert W. Nickens Medical Student Scholarships

The Nickens scholarships recognize outstanding academic achievement of medical students entering the third year in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school.

Tips for Preparing a Compelling Nomination


Learn about grants and awards received by the AAMC