aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Call for Nominations: M. Brownell Anderson Award for New and Emerging Medical Educators

    The Group on Educational Affairs (GEA)
    M. Brownell Anderson Award for New and Emerging Medical Educators


    In the spirit of M. Brownell “Brownie” Anderson, the GEA wishes to recognize early-career medical educators who have demonstrated enthusiasm, commitment, and creativity in the field of medical education across the continuum.  This award identifies and supports emerging educators on their career trajectory in medical education and serves as an opportunity to celebrate their potential and talent.

    Eligibility Criteria

    Nominees must

    • Have no more than five years’ experience in the field of medical education (e.g., direct experience teaching learners, running courses, developing curricula or assessments, etc.)
      • Note: nominees may have many years of clinical or administrative experience not directly related to medical education and still be eligible for this award
    • Hold an academic rank no higher than assistant professor
    • Hold a faculty appointment with an AAMC member institution or be affiliated with an AAMC-member society

    Selection Criteria and Process

    Nominees will be considered for the award based on their demonstrated commitment to teaching and scholarly excellence.  Nomination materials should describe individuals who embody the following descriptors:

    Respected as a teacher, scholar, and researcher by peers, senior-staff, and students; demonstrated by:

    • Passion for education
    • Engagement in the community of medical educators
    • Creativity, innovation, and simplicity

    Nominees will likely exhibit one or more of the following examples in the last three to five years:

    • Scholarly submissions
    • Education presentations at regional or national meetings

    Each of the four GEA regions (CGEA, NEGEA, SGEA, and WGEA) will solicit regional nominees and select a single awardee.  The GEA Steering Committee will select a single educator from the four regional awardees to recognize nationally. Regional awardees will be recognized at their regional meeting and the national awardee will be recognized at the 2024 AAMC Learn Serve Lead Meeting.

    Nomination Guidelines

    Address letters of nomination to Carol Elam, EdD, Chair of the GEA.  Letters should be no more than two pages, 12-point font with one-inch margins.  Include “M. Brownell Anderson Award Nomination” as the message line of the email.


    Submit letters of nominations and nominee curriculum vitae to GEA@aamc.org by Thursday, September 28, 2023 at 11:59 pm PT.   Self-nominations will be accepted.