aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    GREAT Leadership

    Leadership for the Group on Research, Education, and Training (GREAT)

    Steering Committee

    The Steering Committee manages the affairs of the group and approves all committee appointments. 


    Bruce H. Mandt, PhD
    Director, Postdoctoral Office, Career Development Office
    University of Colorado School of Medicine at the Anschutz Medical Campus
    Chair, Postdoctoral Training Section 

    Nicquet Blake, PhD
    Vice Provost, Student Academic Affairs
    Dean, Graduate Division
    University of California, San Francisco
    Chair, Graduate Training Section

    Talia Swartz, MD, PhD
    Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
    Senior Associate Dean for MD-PhD Education
    Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
    Chair, MD-PhD Training Section

    Graduate Training Section Representatives 

    Patrick Brandt, PhD
    Director of Career Development and Training
    Director of Science Outreach
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    Allison D. Fryer, MSc, PhD
    Professor of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
    Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
    Oregon Health & Science University

    Michael Grotewiel, PhD
    Associate Dean for Graduate Education
    Professor of Human and Molecular Genetics
    Virginia Commonwealth University

    Louis B. Justement, PhD
    Professor of Microbiology 
    Director, Graduate Biomedical Immunology Theme
    University of Alabama at Birmingham

    Mary Ellen Lane, PhD
    Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
    Professor of Neurobiology
    University of Massachusetts T.H. Chan School of Medicine

    John C. Panepinto, PhD
    Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    Senior Associate Dean for Biomedical Education
    Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo

    Cherilynn R. Shadding, PhD
    Associate Dean​
    The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth
    Houston Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences​

    MD-PhD Training Section Representatives

    Justin T. Baca, MD, PhD
    Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
    Director, MD-PhD Program
    University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center

    Jennifer S. Davila, PhD
    Administrative Director, South Texas Medical Scientist Training Program
    UT Health San Antonio

    Randy Seay, MA, MPA, MPH
    Associate Director of Physician Scientist Development
    University of Alabama at Birmingham Marnix E. Heersink School of Medicine

    Marshall S. Horwitz, MD, PhD
    Associate Dean, Physician-Scientist Education
    Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
    Professor, Department of Pathology (Adjunct, Medical Genetics and Genome Studies)
    University of Washington School of Medicine

    Mary-Claire Roghmann, MD, MS
    Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
    Professor, Epidemiology and Public Health
    Associate Dean for Physician-Scientist Training
    University of Maryland School of Medicine

    Christopher Williams, MD, PhD
    Associate Dean, Physician-Scientist Education
    Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
    Associate Director of the Harrison Society
    Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

    Postdoctoral Training Section Representatives

    Paola Cepeda, PhD
    Director of Postdoctoral Affairs
    Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine

    Natalie Chernets, PhD
    Director of Postdoctoral Affairs and Professional Development
    Drexel University

    Sara Dann Grice, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Director of the Postdoctoral Certificate Program
    University of Texas Medical Branch

    Paulette McRae, PhD
    Assistant Director, Specialty Programs and Diversity
    Office of Academic Training and Outreach Programs
    Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute 

    Valerie Miller, PhD​
    Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs​
    University of Illinois Chicago​

    Babatunde (Kay) O. Oyajobi, MBBS, PhD, MBA
    Professor, Cell Systems and Anatomy
    Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
    The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine

    Angela Wandinger-Ness, PhD
    Professor of Pathology
    Associate Chair of Pathology
    University of New Mexico School of Medicine