aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    Steering Committee - GFA

    The Group on Faculty Affairs Steering Committee is responsible for the leadership and management of GFA affairs and for approving all committee appointments. The Committee consists of three officers (Chair, Chair-Elect, and Immediate Past Chair) and seven at-large members. In addition, liaisons may be appointed from other AAMC Groups and Councils with approval of the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee meets twice a year and convenes monthly for conference calls. 

    The Chair presides over all GFA and Steering Committee meetings, appoints committee chairs, and performs necessary duties and functions in order to provide appropriate leadership to the GFA. In the absence of the Chair, the Chair-Elect shall fulfill the functions of the Chair. 

    Committee Member Roles and Expectations 


    Lisa Cain, PhD 
    Adjunct Professor, Neurobiology and Anatomy, McGovern Medical School
    Professor, Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences, School of Dentistry
    Associate Vice President of Faculty Affairs and Development
    University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston


    Johnson George, MBA, PMP, CAHIMS
    Assistant Dean of the Office of Administration and Faculty Affairs
    McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston

    Past Chair and Nominating Committee Chair

    Elza Mylona, PhD, MBA 
    Vice Dean, Faculty and Academic Affairs
    Professor, Department of Medical Education
    University of Texas at Tyler School of Medicine

    Communications Committee Chair

    Jennifer Apps, PhD 
    Assistant Provost of Faculty Affairs
    Associate Professor, Psych. & Behavioral Med.
    Medical College of Wisconsin

    Professional Development Committee Chair

    Sheila Crow, PhD
    Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development
    University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

    Program Planning Committee Chair

    Annalise Ellis, MHA
    Director of Faculty Affairs and Student Records
    Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

    Research & Scholarship Committee Chair

    Michele Kutzler, PhD
    Associate Dean for Faculty, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    Drexel University College of Medicine


    Jacqueline Hill, PhD, MPH, CHES
    Director, Office of Faculty Development
    Children’s Mercy Hospital Kansas City

    COD Liaison

    Amy P. Murtha, MD
    Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
    Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School 

    CFAS Liaison

    Aviad “Adi” Haramati, PhD
    Professor of Integrative Physiology in the Departments of Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology, and Medicine (Nephrology)
    Georgetown University Medical Center

    AAMC Partner

    Michelle Oliva, PMP
    Director, Constituent Engagement
    Association of American Medical Colleges