aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    AAHCI Awards

    AAHCI Distinguished Service Award

    Honors exceptional commitment to AAHCI, significant contribution to its success, and dedication to helping advance the work of academic health centers worldwide.

    AAHCI Innovation Award

    Reflects exceptional commitment to AAHCI and dedication toward advancing the work of academic health centers worldwide through the development of an innovative program.

    Minimum Criteria for AAHCI Awards

    • Candidate must be or have been a member of AAHCI.
    • Candidate must have contributed significantly to the AAHCI community through leadership (such as Regional Offices or Steering Committee) and/or contribution to AAHCI activities (e.g., presentations, webinars, innovative programs, articles).

    Nomination for AAHCI Awards

    • AAHCI members can be nominated by current active members or AAHCI staff.
    • Nominating members or staff must create a nominating letter recommending the category (Distinguished Service or Innovation Award). The nomination letter should include information about the candidate’s contribution to AAHCI and why you feel they are deserving of this recognition.
      • Nominations made by AAHCI members will be reviewed and approved by AAHCI staff after confirming they meet the minimum criteria.
      • Nominations by AAHCI staff must be approved by the AAHCI Steering Committee.
    • Nominations must be received on or before Dec. 31 to be considered for recognition at the AAHCI Global Innovation Forum in the following calendar year. Nominations received after Dec. 31 will be considered in the subsequent year.

    Recognition for AAHCI Awards

    • AAHCI Global Innovation Forum fees we will be waived for awardee.
    • A commemorative gift will be presented to the awardee at the Global Innovation Forum, if present, or forwarded to them after recognition is given.

    AAHCI Award Recipients

    Distinguished Service Award Recipients


    Luciano Saso, PhD, Sapienza University of Rome
    Mohamed H. Sayegh, MD, American University of Beirut
    Ari Syam, PhD, MD, MMB, FACP, Universitas Indonesia


    Martin Paul, MD, Maastricht University

    AAHCI Innovation Award Recipients


    Valeria Aoki, MD, PhD, University of Sao Paulo School of Medicine