aamc.org does not support this web browser.

    2022 AAHC President's Council on the Learning Health System


    Convened in 2022, the AAHC President’s Council* on the Learning Health System focused on concerns at the level of the most senior leaders of academic health centers, such as delineating the leadership role of the academic health center in establishing and maintaining a learning health system, determining what questions a top leader should ask their direct reports to track the progress of a learning health system, and delineating the benefits and risks associated with a learning health system for an academic health center.

    The members of the council met via various forums throughout the year to examine learning health systems at academic health centers and to develop resources that may include:

    • An inventory of innovative learning health system models.
    • A key considerations document to guide leadership in tracking the progress of a learning health system.
    • An interactive and engaging session for members at the Alliance annual meeting and the AAHCI Global Innovation Forum.
    • A curated and annotated collection of relevant key readings. 
    • Other materials as deemed important by the council.

    *Prior to the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC)--AAMC merger in 2022, the councils were known as the AAHC President’s Councils.

    Council Members

    Deborah German, MD
    Dean, University of Central Florida College of Medicine
    Vice President for Health Affairs
    University of Central Florida

    Naser Ammash, MD
    Sheikh Shakhbout Medical City

    Jerry Balentine, DO
    Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
    New York Institute of Technology

    Richard Barohn, MD
    Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
    University of Missouri-Columbia

    David Burn, MBBS, MA (Oxford), MRCP, MD
    Pro-Vice Chancellor of Medical Sciences
    Newcastle Health Innovation Partners

    Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD
    Dean, Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
    Vice President for Medical Affairs
    Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science

    Harold Collard, MD
    Associate Vice Chancellor of Clinical Research
    University of California, San Francisco

    Eric Elster, MD
    Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine

    Toni Ganzel, MD
    Vice President for Academic Medical Affairs
    University of Louisville

    Steven Goldstein, MD, PhD, FAAP, MA
    Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs
    University of California, Irvine

    Jane Gunn, FAHMS, FRACGP, PhD
    Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
    University of Melbourne

    Gustavo Quintero Hernández, MD
    Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences
    Universidad del Rosario

    Frank Rühli, Dr. med., EMBA
    Founding Chair and Director, Institute of Evolutionary Medicine
    Dean, Faculty of Medicine
    University of Zurich Medical School

    Steven Kanter, MD
    Ex Officio Member
    President and CEO
    Association of Academic Health Centers/International

    Lauren Maggio, PhD
    Programs Scholar


    Learning Health System Resources

    “AAHC President’s Council on the Learning Health System: Key Considerations for Academic Health Center Executive Leaders” (PDF)

    “AAHC President’s Council on the Learning Health System: Key Resources” (PDF)