Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

Reps. DeLauro, Higgins Introduce Bill to Increase Funding for NIH

September 19, 2014— Reps. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.) and Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.) Sept. 19 introduced the Accelerating Biomedical Research Act, which allows for an increase in National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding, offset by adjusting the discretionary budget caps mandated by the Budget Control Act.

The legislation gives the Appropriations Committee the authority to increase funding for the NIH as long as appropriators provide at least $29.9 billion for NIH each fiscal year. In total, appropriations may provide up to $46.2 billion at the end of the seven year period from fiscal year (FY) 2015-2021. The additional funding allows an initial increase of 10 percent in each of the first two years, followed by 5 percent increases each year thereafter.

In a statement endorsing the bill, AAMC President and CEO Darrell Kirch, M.D., said the bill will “provide the sustained, long-term predictable funding growth essential to catalyze scientific momentum and address current and emerging health challenges. This bill is an important first step to restoring broader federal support for research.”

Rep. DeLauro, who is the ranking Democrat on the House Labor-HHS Appropriations Subcommittee, notes in her press release that “Doing so would allow the appropriations committees to restore NIH funding to the purchasing power it would have if it had kept up with inflation since 2003.”

The bill is the House companion to S. 2658 introduced July 24 by Senator Tom Harkin (D-Iowa).


Dave Moore
Senior Director, Government Relations
Telephone: 202-828-0559


envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806