Skip to Content

Filter by:

Washington Highlights

On the Hill…

December 7, 2012—Rep. Bob Filner (D-Calif.) Dec. 3 resigned from Congress after being sworn in as the mayor of San Diego. Rep. Filner was elected to Congress in 1993 and served as chair of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs. Rep.-elect Juan Vargas (D) will assume his seat to represent California’s 51st district in the 113th Congress.

Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (R-Mo.) also announced that she will resign from Congress next February to assume the position of president and CEO of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Rep. Emerson was elected to the House in 1996. A special election will be held in February to fill her seat.

Additionally, Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) Dec 6. announced that he will resign his seat in January. He will take the position of president of the Heritage Foundation, a conservative think tank based in Washington. South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley (R) will appoint a successor to fill Sen. DeMint’s seat until a special election in 2014; the winner of the special election will finish out the last two years of Sen. DeMint’s term.

With respect to committee appointments, House Energy and Commerce Committee Chair Fred Upton (R-Mich.) approved five new Republican members to the committee in the 113th Congress:

  • Rep. Gus Bilirakis (Fla.);
  • Rep. Renee Ellmers (N.C.);
  • Rep. Ralph Hall (Texas);
  • Rep. Bill Johnson (Ohio);
  • Rep. Billy Long (Mo.); and
  • Rep. Ralph Hall (Texas)—-former Energy and Commerce committee member.


House Committee on Appropriations Chair Hal Rogers (R-Ky.) will also welcome the following six Republicans to join the Appropriations Committee:

  • Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.);

  • Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (Tenn.);

  • Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (Neb.);

  • Rep. David Joyce (Ohio);

  • Rep. Thomas Rooney (Fla.); and

  • Rep. David Valadao (Calif.).


Meanwhile, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (Calif.) announced that the House Democratic Caucus approved new ranking members of House committees for the 113th Congress:

  • Appropriations: Rep. Nita Lowey (N.Y.), formerly Rep. Norm Dicks (Wash.), who is retiring;
  • Budget: Rep. Chris Van Hollen (Md.);
  • Education & the Workforce: Rep. George Miller (Calif.);
  • Energy & Commerce: Rep. Henry Waxman (Calif.);
  • Science, Space & Technology: Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas);
  • Veterans’ Affairs: Rep. Michael Michaud (Maine), formerly Rep. Bob Filner (Calif.); and
  • Ways & Means: Rep. Sander Levin (Mich.).
envelope on a green background

Subscribe to Washington Highlights

RSS icon

Subscribe to RSS

Washington Highlights, a weekly electronic newsletter, features brief updates on the latest legislative and regulatory activities affecting medical schools and teaching hospitals.

Past Issues

For More Information

Jason Kleinman
Sr. Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations
Telephone: 202-903-0806