aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Washington Highlights

    GAO Selects New MACPAC Commissioners and Chair

    Jason Kleinman, Senior Legislative Analyst, Govt. Relations

    The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) May 4 announced the appointment of five new commissioners to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC). Additionally, current member Penny Thompson, principal, Penny Thompson Consulting, LLC, was named the new Chair.

    The new commissioners are:

    • Martha Carter, DHSc, chief executive officer, FamilyCare Health Centers;

    • Frederick Cerise, MD, MPH, president and chief executive officer, Parkland Health and Hospital System;

    • Kisha Davis, MD, MPH, family physician, Casey Health Institute;

    • Darin Gordon, president and chief executive officer, Gordon & Associates; and

    • William Scanlon, PhD, consultant, West Health Institute.

    The new commissioner’s terms will expire in April 2020.