aamc.org does not support this web browser.
  • Washington Highlights

    Congressional Leaders Announce Appointments to New Budget and Appropriations Reform Panel

    Tannaz Rasouli, Sr. Director, Public Policy & Strategic Outreach

    House and Senate leaders announced appointments to the Joint Select Committee on Budget and Appropriations Process Reform. The temporary panel was created by the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 [See Washington Highlights, Feb. 9] and ordered to “provide recommendations and legislative language that will significantly reform the budget and appropriations process.” Additionally, the joint committee must produce a report no later than Nov. 30, 2018.

    House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wis.) Feb. 22 announced the appointment of Reps. Steve Womack (R-Ark.), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), Rob Woodall (R-Ga.), and Jodey Arrington (R-Texas). Similarly, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) Feb. 23 announced the appointment of Reps. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), John Yarmuth (D-Ky.), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.), and Derek Kilmer (D-Wash.) to the new budget and appropriations panel.

    For the Senate’s assignments, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) Feb. 27 announced the appointment of Sens. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), and Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) while Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) Feb. 26 announced that Sens. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), and Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii) will serve on the panel for the Senate Democrats.