Skip to Content

Association of American Medical Colleges Tomorrow's Doctors, Tomorrow's Cures®

Mission, Vision, and Strategy

AAMC Mission Vision Strategy

Download the AAMC's Mission, Vision, and Strategy 

2013 Annual Report

2012 annual report cover

The AAMC and our members worked together in 2012 to lay a strong foundation for the future.

AAMC Board of Directors

The AAMC is governed by a 17-member Board of Directors:

  • Chair, Chair-elect, and Immediate Past Chair
  • President/CEO
  • Chair and Chair-Elect of each AAMC membership Council (Faculty and Academic Societies, Deans, Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems)
  • Seven at-large members to include a student, a resident, and a public member

Board Members, 2013-2014

  • Chair: Lorris Betz, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Vice President Emeritus of Health Sciences, University of Utah
  • Chair-elect: Peter L. Slavin, M.D., President, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Immediate Past Chair: Valerie N. Williams, Ph.D., M.P.A., Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • President and CEO: Darrell G. Kirch, M.D., Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Marna P. Borgstrom, M.P.H., President and Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital
  • Ruth-Marie (Rhee) E. Fincher, M.D., Vice Dean for Academic Affairs Emerita, Georgia Regents University
  • Rosemarie L. Fisher, M.D., Director and Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education, Yale University
  • Mariya Kalashnikova, M.D. Candidate, University of Southern California
  • Robert J. Laskowski, M.D., M.B.A., President and Chief Executive Officer, Christiana Care Health System
  • Brenessa M. Lindeman, M.D., Resident in General Surgery, Johns Hopkins University
  • Catherine R. Lucey, M.D., Vice Dean for Education, University of California, San Francisco
  • William Novelli, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University
  • Harold L. Paz, M.D., Dean, Pennsylvania State College of Medicine; CEO, Pennsylvania State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center; Senior Vice President for Health Affairs, Pennsylvania State University
  • Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., M.D., Professor and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Marsha D. Rappley, M.D., Dean, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Benjamin P. Sachs, M.D., M.B., B.S., D.P.H., Senior Vice President, Tulane University
  • M. Roy Wilson, M.D., President, Wayne State University